Posts Slider - Keep Sticky First in Order

kenny

31 May, 2018 02:41 AM

Hi,
I have a Posts slider (ID = 2) that just pulls all posts in any category and displays them in order by date. This works fine.

But we want a specific post/slide to ALWAYS be first in the order. We know we can tell the client to just keep updating the date on the 'intro' slide to keep it first, but it's a hassle and they may forget.

• If we tag just one post as 'Sticky', any way to keep it first and then retain the rest of the order as normal???

I tried to piece something together from your 'Modifying order of Posts...' topic and code I found for displaying a sticky post first, but I'm a complete novice with PHP and it's not doing anything. Here's the code I came up with if you can see if I'm at least on the right track and/or missing something obvious in regards to syntax.

function add_sticky_posts_to_slider($slides, $options, $type) {
    $options = '2';
    $sticky = get_option( 'sticky_posts' );
    rsort( $sticky );
    $args = array(
        'post__in' => $sticky,
        'caller_get_posts' => 1,        
        'showposts' => -1
    );
    $query = new WP_Query($args);

$additiona_slides = (array)$query->posts;
    if( is_array($additiona_slides) ) {
        $slides = array_merge($slides, $additiona_slides);
    }
    return $slides; // slides is array of WP Post objects that will be displayed in slider
}
add_filter('new_rs_slides_filter', 'add_sticky_posts_to_slider', 10, 3);

Thanks for any direction here. If there's an easier way to do this, whether by specifying a post ID, using some meta info, etc, we're totally open. Doesn't have to use Sticky feature, just thought that would be obvious.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Dmitry Semenov on 31 May, 2018 03:57 AM

Hello,

Here is an example:

function add_additional_posts_to_slider($slides, $options, $type) {

$additional_post_ids = array( 1, 2, 3 );

$args = array(
            'post_type' => 'post',